By 1971 the once-proud Eagle fleet had shrunk to only one survivor. This is the timetable for the last named passenger train operated by the Missouri Pacific Lines. To be complete, it must be noted that this train shared the time card with two more trains: An unnamed St. Louis-Kansas City local and a by-then-nameless Trains 1 and 2, the former Texas Eagle, which still ran from St. Louis as far as Texarkana.

From the pages of the Official Guide, April 1971

Missouri Pacific RR herald

The Missouri River Eagle

Missouri Pacific Railroad
November 30, 1969

17 Train Number 16
Daily Miles Services Daily
9 30A Dp 0 St. Louis, MO (Union Station) (CT) C X Ar 5 10P
F 9 50A 13 Kirkwood, MO C X D 4 30P
10 27A 51 Washington, MO C X 3 50P
11 40A Ar 122 Jefferson City, MO C XDp 2 40P
11 41A Dp Ar 2 35P
12 10P 147 California, MO X F 2 04P
F12 22P 159 Tipton, MO X
12 45P 185 Sedalia, MO C X 1 25P
F 1 12P 204 Knobnoster, MO X F12 57P
1 25P 215 Warrensburg, MO C X 12 45P
F 1 39P 229 Holden, MO X
F 1 59P 246 Pleasant Hill, MO C X F12 13P
F 2 13P 256 Lee's Summit, MO X F12 01P
2 28P 270 Independence, MO C X F11 45A
3 00P Ar 279 Kansas City, MO C X Dp 11 30A

Train 17: 12 stops, 5:30, 50.7 MPHTrain 16: 10 stops, 5:40, 49.2 MPH


TRAINS No. 17-16
Grill Coach—St. Louis-Kansas City
Coaches—St. Louis-Kansas City


When Amtrak assumed responsibility for intercity passenger service on May 1, 1971, it would retain service over Missouri Pacific's line from St. Louis to Kansas City and in fact would tie it in with service to the east, providing direct through service from Kansas City to New York City. While this through service would not survive the Carter cutbacks at the end of the '70s, service over the St. Louis-Kansas City route would be retained and even expanded in the '80s with the addition of the St. Louis/Kansas City Mules (which somewhat unfortunate names were adopted at the insistence of the Missouri state legislature, which financed the service).